About Us


Our Team

Amongst shire counties, Essex has one of the largest rail networks with some 80 rail stations.

The Essex & South Suffolk Community Rail Partnership (ESSCRP) aim is to encourage and promote the use of the areas six rail branch lines.  The ESSCRP support local projects developed in partnership with community groups and businesses.  The focus is on projects that promote the stations and encourage rail travel through engagement, economic growth and sustainable active travel for all.


Joining to manage the small team in 2010, Jayne leads the rail development work at Essex County Council and looks after the day to day management of the Community Rail Team.  Jayne enjoys working with volunteers and is keen to improve the branch line stations.

Promoting the six branch lines encouraging footfall, but also engaging with the community and tackling social inclusion, make the role very varied and interesting.




Jane Stewart (BA Hons, University of Essex) is an award-winning visual artist based on the Essex coast, her work is rooted in nature, especially the coast, and our relationship to it. She works with local community groups, creating projects and programmes of workshops that bring communities together through making. The newest member of the ESSCRP team, she is committed to sustainable transport, creating fun events for rail travellers and making our stations more welcoming through the use of art and nature.



Joining the team in February 2019, June is based at Chelmsford and looks after The Flitch Line and The Gainsborough Line. She is hoping to bring her previous knowledge of transportation gained from Essex and London to the role. She also hopes her experience of planting up hanging baskets will help.


Catherine looks after all matters on the Crouch Valley (Wickford to Southminster) line and the Southend (Wickford to Southend Victoria) line.  Her background is community engagement for the Highway and Rail industries.  She is not an able gardener but willing to muck in under instruction from the station adopters.

Annual Update for 2021

Annual Update 2022